Lake-land dynamics in Northeastern Iceland

During my undergraduate education, I participated in a National Science Foundation (NSF) funded Research Experience for Undergraduate (REU) project in the lab of Dr. Claudio Gratton in Northeastern Iceland.  I investigated the potential of aquatic midge emergence from Lake Mývatn and deposition on land for fertilizing terrestrial plants and increasing growth and abundance of terrestrial herbivores. My findings were novel in that they described how the movement and decomposition of organisms between adjacent habitats influences not only recipient plants but also their herbivores. This published study can be found here.

For more information about the work conducted on lake-land dynamics by the UW-Madison team of researchers, visit the blog, Smidge of Midge.

Below are some pictures from my experience.

